Chitradurga district with Talukas in Karnataka State

Chitradurga district with Talukas: Chitradurga district is an administrative district of Karnataka state in southern India. The city of Chitradurga is the district headquarters. Chitradurga gets its name fro Chitrakaldurga where you can find an umbrella-shaped lofty hill. The tradition dates Chitradurga District from the period of the Ramayana and Mahabharata. The whole district lies in the valley of the Vedavati River, with the Tungabhadra River flowing in the northwest. During the British times, it was named Chitaldroog. According to the 2011 census Chitradurga district has a population around 16.5 lakhs. Chitradurga has a sex ratio of 969 females for every 1000 males and a literacy rate of 73.82%. The majority of the people in Chitradurga are Hindus, Muslims representing about 9% of the population. Kannada is the most widely spoken language. The district is hilly, with lots of forts and villages. The district is bounded by Tumakuru District to the southeast and south, Chikmagalur District to the southwest, Davanagere District to the west, Bellary District to the north, and Anantapur District of Andhra Pradesh state to the east. Davanagere District was formerly part of Chitradurga.

Chitradurga district

Chitradurga district

Chitradurga Fort is renowned for its name Kallina Kote / Ukinna kote / Elu Suttina kote in Kannada, which was built in parts by the Palegar Nayakas, Hyder Ali and Tipu Sultan. It comprises a series of seven enclosure walls. Accessible by road, this fortress lies on the outskirts of what is Chitradurga today. The city of Chitradurga is located at the junction of NH-4 (Bangalore-Pune National Highway) and NH-13 (Solapur-Mangalore National Highway). Chitradurga is also accessible by train. There is a daily service to Bangalore and weekly services to Mumbai. Proposed link between Chitradurga and Tumakuru can reduce the travel time to Bangalore by half. It is one of the five districts in Karnataka currently receiving funds from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme (BRGF).

Talukas in Chitradurga District

Chitradurga Challakere
Hiriyur Hosdurga
Holalkere Molakalmuru

Map of Chitradurga district

Districts Of Karnataka State

Bagalkot District Bengaluru urban District Bengaluru Rural District
Belagavi District Bellary District Bidar District
Vijayapura District Chamarajanagar District Chikballapur District
Chikamagaluru District Chitradurga District Dakshina Kannada District
Devanagari District Dharwad District Gadag District
Gulbarga Hassan Haveri
Kodagu District Kolar District Koppal District
Mandya District Mysuru District Raichur District
Ramanagara District Shivamogga District Tumakuru District
Udipi District Uttara Kannada District Yadgir District

0/Post a Comment/Comments

Previous Post Next Post