Udupi district With Talukas in Karnataka State

Udupi district With Talukas: Udupi district in the Karnataka state of India was created in August 1997. The three northern taluks, Udupi, Kundapur, and Karkala, were separated from Dakshina Kannada District to form Udupi district. Udupi district is surrounded by Uttara Kannada district in north, Dakshina Kannada district in southern direction. Shivamogga district borders on the northeast side and Chikkamagaluru district on the east. The Arabian Sea is on the west of Udupi district. Udupi district is bound by the Arabian Sea in a west and Western Ghats (world heritage site) in the east. Udupi is famous for Udupi cuisine originated in the district as well as at Ashta Matha, i.e., eight Matts, Sri Krishna Temple and Udupi Hotels. Udupi is also one of oldest Educational Centres. Yakshagana, the drama and dance folk art is highly developed and popular in Udupi district as well as other coastal districts of Karnataka. Udupi district consists of three taluks: Udupi, Karkala, Kundapura, Byndoor, Brahmavara, and Kaup.

Udupi district

Udupi district

According to the 2011 census, Udupi district has a population around 12 lakhs. Udupi has a sex ratio of 1093 females for every 1000 males, and a literacy rate of 86.29%. Udupi has a tropical climate. Udupi has a literacy rate of 92%, which is high compared to other districts of Karnataka. Udupi also tops the 10th and 12th standard exams held every year by the Karnataka State Education Board. Udupi district is home to internationally renowned educational institutions. The Manipal University Manipal Academy of Higher Education (MAHE) runs schools, colleges, and institutes of higher learning. Similarly, the Nitte University, located at Nite, heads a large number of educational institutions. The Udupi district was once thriving rice and coconut producer, but any longer. Also one can find arecanut (betelnut) gardens here and there. Cashew is also grown. Milk is procured from farmers by Karnataka Milk Federation which has a dairy processing plant at Manipal in the district. The Udupi district has two national highways passing through, one is NH-17 (now renamed as NH 66) and another is NH-13. The national highway 17 (now renamed as NH 66) which moves in north and south direction. The primary languages of Udupi district are Tulu, Kannada, Konkani and Beary Bashe. Udupi and Dakshina Kannada districts are referred to as Tulu Nadu, as they constitute the Tulu-majority region. Inscriptions in the Tulu languages are found in and around the village of Barkur, the ancient capital of Tulu Nadu.

Talukas of Udupi district

Udupi Karkal Kundapura

Map Of Udupi district

Districts Of Karnataka State

Bagalkot District Bengaluru urban District Bengaluru Rural District
Belagavi District Bellary District Bidar District
Vijayapura District Chamarajanagar District Chikballapur District
Chikamagaluru District Chitradurga District Dakshina Kannada District
Devanagari District Dharwad District Gadag District
Gulbarga Hassan Haveri
Kodagu District Kolar District Koppal District
Mandya District Mysuru District Raichur District
Ramanagara District Shivamogga District Tumakuru District
Udipi District Uttara Kannada District Yadgir District

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post