Thiruvarur district With Talukas in Tamil Nadu State

Thiruvarur district  With Talukas: Thiruvarur district is one of the 32 districts in the Tamil Nadu state of India. The district occupies an area of 2161 km². It lies between Nagapattinam district on the east and Thanjavur District on the west and is bounded by the Palk Strait on the south. The district headquarters is at Thiruvarur town. Thiruvarur lies in the Kaveri River basin and the main occupation of the inhabitants of the town and surrounding regions is agriculture. More than 70% of the workforce is involved in agriculture. Thiruvarur is connected by three national highways, NH 45A to Viluppuram, NH 67 to Coimbatore. Thiruvarur railway junction is a four-way junction connecting Thanjavur in the west, Mayiladuthurai in the north, Nagapattinam in the east and Thiruthuraipoondi in the south. The nearest airport to Thiruvarur is Tiruchirapalli Airport located 110 km (68 mi) from the town.

Thiruvarur district

Thiruvarur district

According to 2011 census, Thiruvarur district had a population of 1,264,277 with a sex-ratio of 1,017 females for every 1,000 males, much above the national average of 929. A total of 121,973 were under the age of six, constituting 62,280 males and 59,693 females.  The average literacy of the district was 74.86%. The Thiruvarur district, along with the Nagapattinam district was part of the Thanjavur District before 1991. After that, the present Taluks of Thiruvarur district and Nagapattinam district were separated from the Thanjavur District. Thiruvarur district is made up of seven taluks. Law and order in the town in maintained by the Thiruvarur sub division of the Tamil Nadu Police headed by a Deputy Superintendent. There are three police stations in the town, one of them being an all-women police station.

Talukas in Thiruvarur district

Thiruvarur Nannilam
Kudavasal Valangaiman
Mannargudi Needamangalam
Previous Post Next Post