Dindigul district With Talukas in Tamil Nadu State

Dindigul district With Talukas : Dindigul district is an administrative region in the south of Tamil Nadu, India. The district was carved out of Madurai District in 1985. It has an area of 6266.64 km 2  and comprises three Revenue Divisions, eight Taluks, and 14 Panchayat Unions. The district is bound by Tirupur, Karur, and Trichy districts in the north, the Sivaganga  and Tiruchi districts in the east, the Madurai district in the south, and the Theni and Coimbatore districts and the state of Kerala in the west. In 2006, the Ministry of Panchayati Raj named Dindigul one of the country's 250 most backward districts (out of a total of 640). It is one of the six districts in Tamil Nadu currently receiving funds from Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme (BRGF). Dindigul has 200,000 hectares of cultivable land, and agriculture continues to be the main occupation of its inhabitants. Located between the Palani  and Sirumalai Hills, Dindigul has a reserved forest area of 85 hectares.

Dindigul district

Dindigul district

According to 2011 census, Dindigul district had a population of 2,159,775 with a sex-ratio of 998 females for every 1,000 males, much above the national average.  The average literacy of the district was 68.61%. The topography is plain and hilly, with the variation resulting in climatic changes. There are no notable mineral resources available in and around the town. The soil type is thin veeneer soil, which is mostly black clayey soil with red soil. Summer season is from March to July, while December to January marks the winter season. As of 2011, there are 19 municipal primary schools, 23 other primary schools, eight middle schools and 13 higher secondary schools in Dindigul. There were ten other private schools within the town. There were three engineering colleges and three arts and science colleges. Gandhigram Rural University is the only university in Dindigul. Electricity supply to Dindigul is regulated and distributed by the Tamil Nadu Electricity Board (TNEB).

Talukas in Dindigul district

Dindigul Palani
Athoor Kodaikanal
Oddanchatram Vedasandur
Nattam Nilakkottai
Previous Post Next Post