Kolar District with Talukas in Karnataka State

Kolar District with Talukas: Kolar district is a district in the state of Karnataka, India. Kolar is the district headquarters. Located in southern Karnataka, it is the state's easternmost district. Kolar has 5 taluks. The district is surrounded by the Bangalore Rural district on the west, Chikballapur district on the north, the Chittoor district of Andhra Pradesh on the east and the Krishnagiri and Vellore districts of Tamil Nadu on the south. On 10 September 2007, it was divided to form the new district of Chikballapur. Due to the discovery of the Kolar Gold Fields, the district has become known as the "Golden Land" of India. Kolar district is in a semi-arid, drought-prone region. The major sources of employment are agricultural: dairy farming, sericulture, and floriculture. The district is popularly known as the land of "silk, milk and gold. Farmers in Kolar depend on bore well water for irrigation and drinking.

Kolar District

Kolar District

In the 2011 census, Kolar district had a population around 15 lakhs.  Kolar's sex ratio is 976 females per 1,000 males. Its literacy rate is 74.33 percent. National Highway 4 (NH-4) passes through Narasapura, Kolar and Mulbagal, and a state highway and district roads connect other taluks. NH-4 connects Bangalore, Narasapura, Kolar, Mulbagal, Chittor and Chennai. Kolar is in the South Western Railway zone of Indian Railways. The district has junctions at Kolar and Bangarapet. The district's primary language is Kannada, Urdu, Tamil and Telugu are also spoken. Kolar Gold Fields (KGF) has an Anglo-Indian population.  Most of the old buildings are getting demolished and new buildings are getting constructed. To avoid accidents, the police department has introduced the traffic light signals at KSRTC Bus Station Road and Mekke Circle. So these things will help Kolar to grow more and be a developed district.

Talukas in Kolar District

Bangarapet Kolar
Mulbagal Malur

Map in Kolar District

Districts Of Karnataka State

Bagalkot District Bengaluru urban District Bengaluru Rural District
Belagavi District Bellary District Bidar District
Vijayapura District Chamarajanagar District Chikballapur District
Chikamagaluru District Chitradurga District Dakshina Kannada District
Devanagari District Dharwad District Gadag District
Gulbarga Hassan Haveri
Kodagu District Kolar District Koppal District
Mandya District Mysuru District Raichur District
Ramanagara District Shivamogga District Tumakuru District
Udipi District Uttara Kannada District Yadgir District
Previous Post Next Post