Saturday, November 19, 2016

Kurnool District Profile,Mandals and tourist places in AP State

Kurnool District Profile,Mandals and tourist places  : Kurnool District History, Tourist Attractions Kurnool is one of the important towns in Andhra Pradesh and is the headquarter of the district with the same name. it was once called the Kandenovulu. Kurnool was the capital city of Andhra state from 1953 to 1956. It was in the Andhra Pradesh state from 1956 and is continuing as one of the districts in Andhra Pradesh of the bifurcation of the state as Telangana and Andhra Pradesh.

Kurnool district is divided into Kurnool, Adoni, and Nandyal revenue divisions. There are two Loksabha constituencies which are Kurnool and Nandyala and thirteen state assembly constituencies. Tungabhadra, Kundera, Penna are the main rivers that flow through this district.

Kurnool has Telangana on the north side, Karnataka on the west, Prakasam district on east and Ananatapuram and Kadapa districts on the south. National highway no. 7 passes through Kurnool and national highway no. 18 begins from Kurnool. The total area of the district is 17,658 square meters.

The earlier name of Kurnool is Kandenavolu. Kurnool history says that this place is ruled by Badami Chalukyas, Telugu Cholas, and Kakatiyas. later Vijayanagara rulers brought this place under their rule. Complete Kurnool district was under the rule of Sri Krishnadevaraya. The famous Kondareddy Buruju in Kurnool was built by the Vijayanagara ruler Achyutadevarayalu. Golconda sultan Qutub Shahi, Dawood Khan, Himayath Khan were the Muslim rulers who ruled Kurnool. Hyderabad Nizam gave this district to British in around 1800. And this was called the seeded area. After India got independence Kurnool became a part of Madras state. In 1953, Andhra state was formed with eleven districts and Kurnool was made the capital city. In 1956 Andhra Pradesh was formed with Hyderabad as the capital.

Mandals in Kurnool District

Adoni Allagadda Alur, Kurnool district
Aspari Atmakur, Kurnool Bandi Atmakur
Banganapalle Bethamcherla Chagalamarri
Chippagiri Devanakonda Dornipadu
Gadivemula Gonegandla Gospadu
Gudur, Kurnool Halaharvi Holagunda
Jupadu bungalow Kallur, Kurnool district Kodumur
Kodumuru Koilkuntla Kolimigundla
Kosigi Kowthalam Krishnagiri, Kurnool district
Kurnool Maddikera Maddikera (East)
Mahanandi Mantralayam Midthur
Nandavaram Nandikotkur Nandyal
Orvakal Owk Pagidyala
Pamulapadu Panyam Pattikonda
Peapally Pedda kadabur Sanjamala
Sirvel Srisailam Tuggali
Uyyalawada Veldurthi Velgode

Tourist attractions in Kurnool District

One of the popular religious place in Kurnool is Manthralayam. This is on the banks of Tungabhadra river and Raghavendra Swamy is worshiped here. Ahobilam is another place Lord Narasimha Swamy is worshiped. Another tourist attraction in Kurnool is Mahanandi. Srisailam is also in Kurnool district where there are temples of Mallikarjuna Swamy and Bharamaramba. The dam built here is one of the largest in the country and provides water to lakhs of acres of fields and is the major resource for electricity production for Andhra Pradesh.

Yaganti is another Kurnool tourist place, where Umamaheshwara Swamy is worshiped. There is an idol of Sri Venkateswara Swamy in a cave beside the temple. Yaganti is at a distance of 85 kilometers from Kurnool. Other attractions are Kondareddy Buruju, Jagannatha Gutta, Revanuru Hussain Swamy Dargah etc.

In Kurnool also agriculture is the main occupation of people like the other place in Andhra Pradesh. K C canal, Velugodu Project, Avuku, Pothireddypadu, Srisailam provide necessary water for agriculture.

Map of Kurnool District


Post a Comment