List of Chief Ministers of West Bengal (1947 - Present)

List of Chief Ministers of West Bengal (1947 - Present): There have been 24 Chief Ministers in West Bengal, India, since 1947. The first was Prafulla Chandra Ghosh; the present CM was Mamata Banerjee from the AITC Party. Below the table, we have listed the year-wise chief ministers and their party names to date.

Chief Ministers of West Bengal State

List of Chief Ministers of West Bengal State

Chief MinisterFromToParty Name
Mamata Banerjee05-05-2021PresentAITC
Mamata Banerjee26-05-201604-05-2021AITC
Mamata Banerjee20-05-201125-05-2016AITC
Buddhadeb Bhattacharya18-05-200613-05-2011Communist Party of India (Marxist)
Buddhadeb Bhattacharya15-05-200117-05-2006Communist Party of India (Marxist)
Buddhadeb Bhattacharya06-11-200014-05-2001Communist Party of India (Marxist)
Jyoti Basu16-05-199605-11-2000Communist Party of India (Marxist)
Jyoti Basu19-06-199115-05-1996Communist Party of India (Marxist)
Jyoti Basu30-03-198718-06-1991Communist Party of India (Marxist)
Jyoti Basu24-05-198229-03-1987Communist Party of India (Marxist)
Jyoti Basu21-06-197723-05-1982Communist Party of India (Marxist)
President's rule30-04-197720-06-1977Communist Party of India (Marxist)
Siddhartha Shankar Ray20-03-197230-04-1977INC
President's rule29-06-197120-03-1972 
Ajoy Kumar Mukherjee02-04-197128-06-1971INC
President's rule30-07-197002-04-1971 
President's rule19-03-197030-07-1970 
Ajoy Kumar Mukherjee25-02-196916-03-1970Bangla Congress (United Front)
President's rule20-02-196825-02-1969 
Prafulla Chandra Ghosh21-11-196719-02-1968Independent
Ajoy Kumar Mukherjee01-03-196721-11-1967Bangla Congress (United Front)
Prafulla Chandra Sen09-07-196228-02-1967INC
Bidhan Chandra Roy03-04-196201-07-1962INC
Bidhan Chandra Roy06-04-195702-04-1962INC
Bidhan Chandra Roy31-03-195205-04-1957INC
Bidhan Chandra Roy26-01-195030-03-1952INC
Bidhan Chandra Roy23-01-194825-01-1950INC
Prafulla Chandra Ghosh15-08-194722-01-1948INC

List of Chief Ministers of West Bengal State

Previous Post Next Post