Vijayapura (Bijapur) District and Talukas in Karnataka state

Vijayapura (Bijapur) District and Talukas in Karnataka state: Vijayapura is also known as Bijapur. It is located in Karnataka state. This district is well known for its historical monuments built during the rule of the Adil Shah dynasty. The Kalyani Chalukyas established the city in the 10th and 11th centuries and was known as Vijayapura (City of Victory). Bijapur is located 530 km northwest of the State Capital, Bengaluru, about 550 km from Mumbai, and 384 km west of the city of Hyderabad. According to 2011 census, the population of Vijayapura was about 4 lakhs. Probably 9th highest in all of Karnataka. Vijayapura is an ancient city with five rivers and the domain of different cultures. Bijapur was the biggest district in the state, with 5 taluks. But now it has only 6 taluks as it is now divided with Bagalokote. Vijayapura consists of three distinct portions: the citadel, the fort, and the city’s remains. The district is bounded by Solapur district on the North and Sangali on the North-West, Belgaum district on the West, Bagalkot on the South, Gulbarga on the East, and Raichur on the South-East.

Vijayapura (Bijapur) District

Vijayapura has an average elevation of 883 meters or 2896 feet. Vijayapura has an average literacy rate of 64%, higher than the national average. Vijayapura is an important tourist place in the country with many options, like Anand Mahal, Jod Gumbaz, Jumma Mosque, Sat Manzil, and Jal Manzil. Bijapur has a semi-arid climate. In summer, especially in April and May, it is too hot. In the winter season, from November to January, the temperature is comfortable, around 15-20 degrees Celsius. In the rainy season, it rains heavily. The district has two types of soil. The first is deep black soil, and the other is red soil. The transportation facility is also great in Vijayapura. Overall, it is rich in history and has some great places to see.

Talukas in Vijayapura District

Basavana Bagevadi Bijapur Indi
Muddebihal Sindagi

Bagalkot District Bengaluru Urban District Bengaluru Rural District
Belagavi District Bellary District Bidar District
Vijayapura District Chamarajanagar District Chikballapur District
Chikamagaluru District Chitradurga District Dakshina Kannada District
Devanagari District Dharwad District Gadag District
Gulbarga Hassan Haveri
Kodagu District Kolar District Koppal District
Mandya District Mysuru District Raichur District
Ramanagara District Shivamogga District Tumakuru District
Udipi District Uttara Kannada District Yadgir District

Vijayapura District and Talukas