Udupi District With Talukas in Karnataka State

Udupi District with Talukas in Karnataka State: Udupi district in the Karnataka state of India was created in August 1997. The three northern taluks, Udupi, Kundapur, and Karkala, were separated from Dakshina Kannada District to form Udupi District. Udupi district is surrounded by Uttara Kannada district in the north and Dakshina Kannada district in the southern direction. Shivamogga district borders the northeast side, and Chikkamagaluru district is on the east. The Arabian Sea is to the west of the Udupi district. Udupi district is bound by the Arabian Sea in the west and the Western Ghats (world heritage site) in the east. Udupi is famous for Udupi cuisine, which originated in the district and at Ashta Matha, i.e., eight Matts, Sri Krishna Temple, and Udupi Hotels. Udupi is also one of the oldest Educational Centres. Yakshagana, the drama and dance folk art, is highly developed and popular in Udupi district and other coastal districts of Karnataka. Udupi district consists of three taluks: Udupi, Karkala, Kundapura, Byndoor, Brahmavara, and Kaup.

Udupi district

Udupi District

According to the 2011 census, Udupi district has a population of around 12 lakhs. Udupi has a sex ratio of 1093 females for every 1000 males and a literacy rate of 86.29%. Udupi has a tropical climate. Udupi has a literacy rate of 92%, which is high compared to other districts of Karnataka. Udupi also tops the 10th and 12th standard exams the Karnataka State Education Board holds yearly. Udupi district is home to internationally renowned educational institutions. The Manipal University Manipal Academy of Higher Education (MAHE) runs schools, colleges, and institutes of higher learning.


Similarly, the Nitte University, located at Nite, heads many educational institutions. The Udupi district was once a thriving rice and coconut producer, but no longer. Also, one can find areca nut (betelnut) gardens here and there. Cashew is also grown. Karnataka Milk Federation procures milk from farmers with a dairy processing plant in the Manipal district. The Udupi district has two national highways passing through; one is NH-17 (now renamed as NH 66), and another is NH-13. The national highway 17 (now renamed as NH 66) moves in the north and south direction. The primary languages of the Udupi district are Tulu, Kannada, Konkani, and Beary Bashe. Udupi and Dakshina Kannada districts are called Tulu Nadu, as they constitute the Tulu-majority region. Inscriptions in the Tulu languages are found in and around the village of Barkur, the ancient capital of Tulu Nadu.

Talukas of Udupi district

Udupi Karkal Kundapura

Bagalkot District Bengaluru Urban District Bengaluru Rural District
Belagavi District Bellary District Bidar District
Vijayapura District Chamarajanagar District Chikballapur District
Chikamagaluru District Chitradurga District Dakshina Kannada District
Devanagari District Dharwad District Gadag District
Gulbarga Hassan Haveri
Kodagu District Kolar District Koppal District
Mandya District Mysuru District Raichur District
Ramanagara District Shivamogga District Tumakuru District
Udipi District Uttara Kannada District Yadgir District

Udupi district With Talukas in Karnataka State

WhatsApp ChannelFollow Us
Telegram GroupJoin Now
YouTube ChannelSubscribe