Tiruchirapalli District With Talukas in Tamil Nadu State

Tiruchirapalli District With Talukas: Tiruchirapalli District is located along the Kaveri River in Tamil Nadu, India. The main town in Tiruchirappalli District is the city of Tiruchirappalli, also known as Trichy. During the British Raj, Tiruchirappalli was known as Trichinopoly and was a district of the Madras Presidency, it was renamed upon India’s declaration of independence in 1947.  Tiruchirapalli is bounded on the north by Salem district, in the northwest by Namakkal district, in the northeast by Perambalur district and Ariyalur district, in the east by Thanjavur District, in the southeast by Pudukkottai district, in the south by Madurai district and Sivagangai district, in the southwest by Dindigul district and, in the west by Karur district. The Kaveri River flows through the length of Tiruchirapalli and is the principal source of irrigation and drinking water. The major rivers are the River Kaveri and the River Kollidam. The important rivers across the city are Koraiyar, Uyyakondan and Kudamuruti rivers.

Tiruchirapalli District

According to 2011 census, Tiruchirappalli district had a population of 2,722,290 with a sex-ratio of 1,013 females for every 1,000 males, much above the national average. The average literacy of the district was 74.9%. In 2013, Tiruchirappalli District went from nine taluks to eleven taluks. The district has a large cattle and poultry population with agriculture workers in the smaller villages.  The major crops are rice, sugarcane, banana/plantain, coconut, cotton (small tracts), betel, corn, and groundnut. As of 2013, Tiruchirappalli has 45 arts and science colleges, 40 polytechnic colleges and 13 colleges that offer management education. There are 200 higher secondary schools in Tiruchirappalli. The most commonly used modes of local transport in Tiruchirappalli are the state government-owned Tamil Nadu State Transport Corporation  (TNSTC) buses and auto rickshaws. Tiruchirappalli sits at the confluence of two major National Highways—NH 45 and NH 67. Tiruchirappalli is served by Tiruchirappalli International Airport.

Talukas in Tiruchirapalli District

Manapparai taluk Marungapuri taluk Srirangam taluk
Tiruchirappalli West taluk Tiruchirappalli East taluk Thiruverumbur taluk
Lalgudi taluk Manachanallur taluk Thuraiyur taluk
Musiri taluk Thottiyam taluk