RTO Codes for RTOs in India || Indian States Vehicle Codes – RTA Info

RTO Codes for RTOs in India || Indian States Vehicle Codes: Regional Transport Offices (RTOs) are located in each state and union territory in India and are the duty of licencing and vehicle registration. Here’s additional information about RTO codes for RTOs in India.

Where should you go if you need a driver’s licence or need to register a new vehicle? Yes, you guessed correctly! All transportation registration and licence issuance are conducted at the Regional Transport Office. You might be astonished to learn that the country has over 1,200 RTOs.


Along with RTO codes for RTOs in India, this article discusses the roles and services provided by RTOs. Let’s get this party started!

RTO Codes for RTOs in India

Below, we’ve listed the RTO codes for India’s union territories and states. The RTO code for each state’s vehicles will be the same for its regions.


Sl.No. State/Union Terrirories Group of letters
1 Andaman and Nicobar AN
2 Andhra Pradesh AP
3 Arunachal Pradesh AR
4 Assam AS
5 Bihar BR
6 Chandigarh CH
7 Dadra and Nagar Haveli DN
8 Daman and Diu DD
9 Delhi DL
10 Goa GA
11 Gujarat GJ
12 Haryana HR
13 Himachal Pradesh HP
14 Jammu and Kashmir JK
15 Karnataka KA
16 Kerala KL
17 Lakshadweep LD
18 Madhya Pradesh MP
19 Maharashtra MH
20 Manipur MN
21 Meghalaya ML
22 Mizoram MZ
23 Nagaland NL
24 Orissa OR
25 Pondicherry PY
26 Punjab PN
27 Rajasthan RJ
28 Sikkim SK
29 TamilNadu TN
30 Telangana TS
31 Tripura TR
32 Uttar Pradesh UP
33 West Bengal WB

RTO Codes for RTOs in India