Prakasam District with New Mandals in Andhra Pradesh

Prakasam district with New Mandals in Andhra Pradesh: A district was formed in 1970 with Ongole as the headquarters. It was named after the first chief minister of Andhra state and freedom fighter Tanguturi Prakasam. Prakasam district is one of the 26th districts in Andhra Pradesh. It has the Bay of Bengal on the east, Nellore and Kadapa districts on the south, Kurnool district on the west and Guntur and Mahaboobnagar districts in the north as borders.

The total area of the Prakasam district is 17,626 square kilometres. This is the biggest district in the area in all the coastal districts. Veligonda and Nallamala hills in the west are very popular and these separate the Prakasam districts from Kadapa and Kurnool districts. In  Prakasam district  they are 39 mandals. We have listed the below the table.

List of Mandals in Prakasam District

Markapuram Giddalur Bestavaripeta
Racheria Komarolu Cumbum
Ardhaveedu Yerragondapalem Pullalacheruvu
Tripuranthakam Domalo Peddaaraveedu
Tarlupadu Ongole Kothapatnam
Santhanuthalapadu Naguluppalapadu Maddipadu
Ongole Chimakurthy Tangutur
Marripudi Kondapl Zarugumalli
Ponnaluru Singarayakonda Podili
Hanumanthunipadu Veligandla Kanigiri
Pedacherlopalle Chandrasekharapuram Pamur
Konakanamitia Darsi Donakonda
Kurichedu Mundiamuru Thallur

Thousands of small and big Buddhist stupas in this region revealed that Buddhism was spread in this area. Prakasam district history also reveals that the region was under the ruling of Kakataiyas, Yadavas, Reddy kings, Gajapatis, Vijayanagara kings, Nawabs and Britishers. Coming to the Prakasam district tourist places, there is coastline, temples, waterfalls, museums and others.

1) Bhairavakona is one of the popular tourist spots with many temples on the hills, waterfall and beautiful nature. There is an ancient Pallava temple and there are also eight small temples in front of it. It is expected that these temples belong to 7 or 8 centuries. Another attraction in Bhairavakona is the waterfall that falls 200 meters.

2) Kambham cheruvu is an example of the construction skills of humans. This was built by Chinna Tirumala Devi, wife of Sri Krishna Devaraya.

3) Ramayapatnam is an ancient village with around 2500 people. There is a temple of Lord Venkateswara that was built in the fifteenth century. Ramayapatnam port was in use since the 1800 year. Another attraction is the lighthouse.

4) Malakonda Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy temple is another well-known temple in the Prakasam district. The temple receives around five thousand devotees on special days and around two thousand in unseason. The temple is located in a peaceful place.

5) Vadarevu is another tourist attraction and is located 8 kilometres from Chirala. Tourists take bath here. Though there are not many facilities, there are guest houses of companies such as ILTD. There is also a lighthouse.

6) Kanaparti museum houses many statues. Two kilometres from this museum is the sea coast.

7) Tripurantaka temple was built by demons Tripurasuras and Lord Shiva killed them for the welfare of the people. This is one of the rarest temples that is built on Sri Chakara. Presiding deities are Tripurantakeswara Swamy and Bala Tripura Sundari.

Districts in Andhra Pradesh State

Anantapur District Chittoor District East Godavari District
Guntur District Kadapa District Krishna District
Kurnool District Prakasam District Nellore District
Srikakulam District Visakhapatnam District Vizianagaram District
West Godavari District