North Goa District and Talukas in Goa State

North Goa  District and Talukas: North Goa is one of the two districts that make up the state of Goa, India. The district has an area of 1736 km² and is bounded by Sindhudurg district of Maharashtra state to the north and by Belgaum district of Karnataka to the east, by South Goa District to the south, and by the Arabian Sea to the west. Goa and two other former Portuguese enclaves became the union territory of Goa, Daman, and Diu, and Goa was organized into a single district in 1965. On 30 May 1987, Goa attained statehood (while Daman and Diu remained a union territory), and Goa was reorganized into two districts, North Goa and South Goa. The administrative headquarters of the district is Panjim, which is also the capital of the state of Goa.

North Goa District

The district forms part of a greater region called the Konkan. The North Goa district is divided into three subdivisions – Panjim, Mapusa, and Bicholim; and five taluks – Tiswadi (Panjim),  Bardez (Mapusa),  Pernem, Bicholim, and Sattari (Valpoi). Ponda Taluka shifted from North Goa to South Goa in January 2015. According to the 2011 census, North Goa has a population of 817,761. North Goa has a sex ratio of 959 females for every 1000 males, and a literacy rate of 88.85%. Konkani is the mother tongue of a majority of the people living in North Goa district. Marathi is spoken by a substantial number of people. English and Hindi are understood by a majority of the population. Portuguese is also spoken in North Goa and understood by a small number of people. The region is framed by two great rivers – the Mandovi in the south and the Terekhol in the north – with some 35km of golden beaches in between. Calangute and Baga are the epicenter of the region and have one of the few beaches still humming in the off-season.

Talukas in North Goa District

Tiswadi Bardez
Pernem Bicholim