Mandya District With Talukas in Karnataka State

Mandya District With Talukas: Mandya District is an administrative district of Karnataka, India. It is bounded by Mysore district to the west and southwest, Tumkur district to the northeast, Chamrajnagar district to the south, Hassan district to the northwest, and Ramanagar district to the east. It has an area of 4,961 square kilometres. The district was formed in the year 1939. Mandya district is called as “SAKKARE NADU” because Sugarcane is a major crop grown here. Also, the people here are most lovely and kind. The main town in Mandya District is Mandya. Mandya district gets its name from the city of Mandya which is also the headquarters of the district. Although the widely purported mythical story about the name is that the region is named after a sage called Maandavya. The Mallikarjuna temple at Basaralu was constructed by the Hoysalas in 1234 CE. The importance of the district’s headquarters town, Mandya, grew with the establishment, in January 1933, of the Mandya Sugar Factory with an authorized capital of Rs 20 lakhs – a great amount in those days. Predictably the sugar factory is now one of the biggest in India.

Table of Contents

Mandya District

Mandya District has five important rivers: the Kaveri River and four tributaries main Hemavathi, Shimsha, Lokapavani, and Veera Vaishnava. Mandya district consists of 7 taluks grouped under 2 subdivisions. According to the 2011 census, Mandya district has a population of around 18 lakhs.  Mandya has a sex ratio of 989 females for every 1000 males, and a literacy rate of 70.14%. Mandya district has an extensive road network. NH 48 and NH 209 pass through the district. The road network in the district includes 73 kilometres of National Highways, 467 kilometres of State Highways and 2,968 kilometres of Major district roads. Mandya belongs to “South Western Railways” of “Indian Railways”. Mandya has many railway stations.

Talukas in Mandya District

Mandya Maddur
Malavalli Krishnarajpet
Nagamangala Pandavapura

Map of Mandya District

Districts Of Karnataka State

Bagalkot District Bengaluru Urban District Bengaluru Rural District
Belagavi District Bellary District Bidar District
Vijayapura District Chamarajanagar District Chikballapur District
Chikamagaluru District Chitradurga District Dakshina Kannada District
Devanagari District Dharwad District Gadag District
Gulbarga Hassan Haveri
Kodagu District Kolar District Koppal District
Mandya District Mysuru District Raichur District
Ramanagara District Shivamogga District Tumakuru District
Udipi District Uttara Kannada District Yadgir District