Karnataka State – Overview of Karnataka State with Districts in India

Karnataka State – Overview of Karnataka State with Districts in India: Karnataka, a southwest state of India with Bengaluru as its capital, was formed in 1956 (as Mysore state) and later became Karnataka in 1973. The history of Karnataka traces back to the periods of Mahabharata and Ramayana. Karnataka is derived from the word Karanadu which means Lofty land ( High plateau), derived from the community’s location on the Deccan Plain. The name also means “Land of black soil” (Kari – Black; Nadu – Area or Region) in Kannada. Kannada is the official language of this state though people speak Hindi, Tamil and other languages too. Karnataka is situated on the western edge of the Deccan plateau. It has its neighbours Maharashtra and Goa on the North, Andhra Pradesh on the East, Tamil Nadu and Kerala on the South. On the west, it opens out on the Arabian Sea.
Karnataka  State

Karnataka State with Districts in India

Karnataka has 30 districts, with Bengaluru being the biggest district. Karnataka is the eighth largest state in India in the area and the Ninth largest in India in terms of population. With 4 administrative divisions, it has been ranked as the 8th most populated state in the 2011 census. The four administrative divisions are Bengaluru, kalaburagi, belagavi and Mysuru division. Vidhan Soudha is the legislative assembly of Karnataka located in Bengaluru.

Karnataka’s geographic area is divided into three regions – the coastal region of Karavali, malenadu region comprising the Western Ghats and the Bayaluseeme region comprising plains of the Deccan plateau.

River Cauvery originates from the Coorg district of Karnataka and is often referred to as Dakshina Ganga and Tala Cauvery; the birthplace of river Cauvery is a sacred place and is considered a special tourist attraction. Rivers Sharavati, mandavi, Malaprabha, etc flow through Karnataka.

Karnataka is considered one of the best tourist and pilgrimage attractions with Udipi Krishna temple, Kukke Subramanya temple, Sringeri, Nandi Hills, Coorg, Mysore, Tippu Sultan palace, etc., and Bengaluru has many tourist spots like beautiful big gardens, temples, pubs, malls etc.
Agriculture is the main occupation of Karnataka; a total of 123,100 km² of land is cultivated, constituting 25.3% of the state’s total geographical area. Other areas of occupation are mining, transport, fishing, public administration, manufacturing, education, information technology etc.

The state tree of Karnataka is sandal, the flower is lotus, and the animal is elephant 🐘.

Bandipur national park, Nagarhole national park and Mudumalai national park are located in Karnataka and are special tourist attractions.

Note: If there are any Corrections of Data, Kindly Email Us 🙁 Districtsinfo.com@gmail.com ). We will update our Website.