Dakshina Kannada District with Talukas in Karnataka State

Dakshina Kannada District with Talukas: Dakshina Kannada is a coastal district in the state  of  Karnataka in India. Sheltered by the Western Ghats on the east and surrounded by the Lakshadweep Sea on the west, Dakshina Kannada receives abundant rainfall during the monsoon. It is bordered by Udupi District to the north, Chikkamagaluru district to the northeast, Hassan District to the east, Kodagu to the southeast, and Kasaragod District in Kerala to the south. The district has 2 revenue sub divisions which are Mangalore and Puttur. Mangalore city is the district headquarters of Dakshina Kannada. The district is divided into five talukas. The district is known for pristine beaches, red clay roof tiles (Mangalore tiles), cashew nut, and its products, banking, education, healthcare and exotic cuisine.

Dakshina Kannada District

According to 2011 Indian Census, the district ranks second in per capita income, second in HDI, first in literacy and third in sex ratio among all districts in Karnataka. Also the population according to census 2011 was 21 lakhs. The major languages spoken in Dakshina Kannada are Tulu, Konkani, Kannada, Beary Bhashe and Are Bhashe.

Dakshina Kannada District geography consists of sea shore in the west and the Western Ghats in the east. The soil is the mostly lateritic type, characterized by high iron and Aluminum content. The major rivers are  Netravathi, Kumaradhara, Gurupura (Phalguni), Shambhavi, Nandini or Pavanje and Payaswini which all join the Lakshadweep sea. In Dakshina Kannada, primary and secondary education have reached every section of the society. Dakshina Kannada is home to the National Institute of Technology Karnataka (NITK) Surathkal, one of India’s top Engineering colleges with many other engineering and medical colleges. Even today, most people of the district follow the traditions, customs, and rituals. The district has many temples of Hindu gods and goddesses, which are ancient and have deep spiritualism attached to them. The district has four national highways connecting parts of Karnataka and India. The Dakshina Kannada district has a seaport at Panambur named New Mangalore Port. The district is connected by air through the Mangalore Airport at Bajpe. Overall Dakshina Kannada is a developed district in Karnataka with almost all the resources and requirements.

Talukas in Dakshina Kannada District

Mangalore Bantval
Puttur Beltangadi

Map of Dakshina Kannada District

Districts Of Karnataka State

Bagalkot District Bengaluru urban District Bengaluru Rural District
Belagavi District Bellary District Bidar District
Vijayapura District Chamarajanagar District Chikballapur District
Chikamagaluru District Chitradurga District Dakshina Kannada District
Devanagari District Dharwad District Gadag District
Gulbarga Hassan Haveri
Kodagu District Kolar District Koppal District
Mandya District Mysuru District Raichur District
Ramanagara District Shivamogga District Tumakuru District
Udipi District Uttara Kannada District Yadgir District
WhatsApp ChannelFollow Us
Telegram GroupJoin Now
YouTube ChannelSubscribe