Cuddalore District and Talukas in Tamil Nadu State

Cuddalore District and  Talukas: Cuddalore District is one of the districts of Tamil Nadu state in southern India. The city of Cuddalore is the district headquarters. From ancient times the old town has been a seaport. Through the centuries, Cuddalore has been subject to a number of foreign powers including the Netherlands, Portugal, France and more recently, the British. The district has an area of 3,564 kmĀ². It is bounded on the north by Viluppuram District, on the east by the Bay of Bengal, on the south by Nagapattinam District, and on the west by Perambalur District. The district is drained by Gadilam and Pennaiyar rivers in the north, Vellar and Kollidam River (Coleroon) in the south. In 2006 the Ministry of Panchayati Raj named Cuddalore one of the country’s 250 most backward districts (out of a total of 640). It is one of the six districts in Tamil Nadu currently receiving funds from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme (BRGF).

Table of Contents

Cuddalore District

According to 2011 census, Cuddalore district had a population of 2,605,914 with a sex-ratio of 987 females for every 1,000 males.  The average literacy of the district was 69.66%. Cuddalore District comprises 9 talukas, 13 Blocks,5 Municipalities and 18 Town Panchayats. The district contributes significantly to the Tamil Nadu state production of cashew nut and jack fruit. Cuddalore experiences a Tropical wet and dry climate under the Koppen climate classification. In Tamil Nadu Cuddalore witnessing heavy rainfall in every northeast monsoon. The highest 24-hour rainfall recorded in Cuddalore was 570 mm on May 18, 1943. As per the religious census of 2011, Cuddalore had 89.12% Hindus, 6.09% Muslims, 3.98% Christians, 0.02% Sikhs, 0.02% Buddhists, 0.27% Jains, 0.48% following other religions and 0.01% following no religion or did not indicate any religious preference.

Talukas in Cuddalore District

Cuddalore Kurinjipadi Panruti
Chidambaram Kattumannarkoil Virudhachalam
Veppur Tittakudi Bhuvanagiri

Districts Of Karnataka State

Bagalkot District Bengaluru urban District Bengaluru rural District
Belagavi District Bellary District Bidar District
Vijayapura District Chamarajanagar District Chikballapur District
Chikamagaluru District Chitradurga District Dakshina kannada District
Devanagare District Dharwad District Gadag District
Gulbarga Hassan Haveri
Kodagu District Kolar District Koppal District
Mandya District Mysuru District Raichur District
Ramanagara District Shivamogga District Tumakuru District
Udipi District Uttara kannada District Yadgir District