Chamarajanagar District and Talukas in Karnataka State

Chamarajanagar District and Taluks: Chamarajanagar is a town in southern Karnataka, India. It is located on the highway linking the neighboring states of Tamil Nadu and Kerala. It is the third least populous district of Karnataka. Chamarajanagar has an average elevation of 662 meters or 2,172 feet. As of the 2011 census, Chamrajanagar had a population of around one lakh. It has an average literacy rate of 60%, higher than the national average. The literacy rate is almost around 60% in Chamarajanagar. Being the southernmost district of Karnataka, Chamarajanagar district borders the states of Tamil Nadu and Kerala. Specifically, it borders Mysuru district of Karnataka to the west and north, Mandya and Ramanagara districts of Karnataka to the north-east, Dharmapuri district of Tamil Nadu to the east, Salem and Erode districts of Tamil Nadu to the southeast, Nilgiris district of Tamil Nadu to the south and Wayanad district of Kerala to the south-west.

Table of Contents

Chamarajanagar District

Chamarajanagar District

Chamarajanagar railway station is the southernmost rail point in Karnataka. The nearest airport is Mysore Airport, and the nearest international airports are Bengaluru and Coimbatore. Mostly here, people speak Kannada, Hindi, and English language. Kannada is the language of Karnataka. Since much of the southern area of the district is a dense forest, it provided good refuge to the bandits like Veerappan, who was responsible for the death of over a hundred policemen. Maaravva, or Maaramma, is the most widely worshiped god in Chamarajanagar. More than ten temples of Maaravva can be found in the district.  Chamarajeshwara Temple and Haralu Kote Anjaneya Temple are the biggest & the oldest temples, respectively, in Chamarajanagar. Chamarajanagar has more than 15 Mosques, 5 Churches, and 2 Jain Basadis & 2 Buddha Viharas. This district of Chamarajanagar is historically rich in cultural heritage and historical monuments.

Talukas in Chamarajanagar Districts

Chamarajanagar Taluka Gundlupet Taluka
Kollegal Taluka Yelandur Taluka
Bagalkot District Bengaluru Urban District Bengaluru Rural District
Belagavi District Bellary District Bidar District
Vijayapura District Chamarajanagar District Chikballapur District
Chikamagaluru District Chitradurga District Dakshina Kannada District
Devanagari District Dharwad District Gadag District
Gulbarga Hassan Haveri
Kodagu District Kolar District Koppal District
Mandya District Mysuru District Raichur District
Ramanagara District Shivamogga District Tumakuru District
Udipi District Uttara Kannada District Yadgir District

Chamarajanagar District and Talukas