Punjab State - Overview of Punjab State with Districts in India

Also Read:

Punjab State - Overview of Punjab State with Districts in India: Punjab, located in the northwest region of India, stands as one of the most prosperous states in the country. The name Punjab originates from the combination of two words, Punj (Five) + Aab (Water), signifying the land of five rivers. Although today's Punjab is traversed by only three of these rivers—Sutlej, Ravi, and Beas—the historical rivers Chenab and Jhelum are now situated in the state of Punjab, Pakistan. The state is geographically divided into three regions: Majha, Doaba, and Malwa.

Agriculture serves as the backbone of Punjab's economy, with additional significant industries encompassing the manufacturing of scientific instruments, electrical goods, financial services, machine tools, textiles, and sewing machines. Despite the setback in 1947, Punjab has demonstrated considerable economic progress since Independence. It plays a pivotal role in the national food production scenario, contributing nearly two-thirds to the total production of food grains and one-third of the country's milk production. The Green Revolution, a monumental agricultural initiative, has been ardently pursued by the people of Punjab.

Punjab State

Punjab State

Despite constituting less than 2.5% of the Indian population, Punjabis are recognized as one of the most prosperous communities in India, boasting a per capita income twice the national average. Punjab is acknowledged for possessing the best infrastructure in the country, with extensive road, rail, air, and river transport links. It holds the distinction of having the lowest poverty rate in India and has been honored with the Best State Performance Award based on statistical data compiled by the Indian Government.

As per the 2011 Census of India, Punjab's total population stands at 2,77,43,338, with a decadal change indicating a population increase of 13.89% from 2001 to 2011.

Punjab is composed of 23 districts, encompassing a total of 168 statutory towns and 69 census towns. Consequently, the state boasts a sum of 237 towns or cities. Key urban centers in Punjab include Mohali, Ludhiana, Amritsar, Patiala, and Jalandhar.

The Punjab region has historical significance as one of the world's earliest civilizations, hosting the Indus Valley Civilization. Cities integral to this ancient civilization, such as Harappa and Mohenjodaro, are presently situated in the contemporary Pakistani province of Punjab.

Below is the list of 23 Districts of the Punjab State: 

Amritsar Barnala Bathinda
Faridkot Fatehgarh Sahib Fazilka
Ferozepur Gurdaspur Hoshiarpur
Jalandhar Kapurthala Ludhiana
Malerkotla Mansa Moga
Pathankot Patiala Rupnagar
S.A.S Nagar Sangrur Shahid Bhagat Singh Nagar
Sri Muktsar Sahib Tarn Taran

Punjab State - Overview of Punjab State with Districts in India

0/Post a Comment/Comments

Previous Post Next Post