Ratnagiri District With Talukas & Tourist Places in Maharashtra State

Ratnagiri District With Talukas & Tourist Places in Maharashtra State: Ratnagiri is one of the districts of Maharashtra having Ratnagiri town as the administrative headquarter. Borders of the district are the Arabian Sea in the west, Sindhudurg in the south, Raigad district in the north, and Kolhapur, Sangil and Satara districts in the east. The district is divided into a hill area, a coastal area and a middle zone. This is one of the seven districts in the Konkan division. Ratnagiri district area is 8,208 square kilometres. 11.33% of the district is urban.

Ratnagiri District With Talukas

Ratnagiri District With Talukas

Overview of Ratnagiri District

Ratnagiri district population, according to the 2011 census, is 1,615,069. The male population is 7,61,121, and the female population is 8,53,948. Population density is 196 per square kilometre, and the sex ratio is 1123 females for every 1000 males. The literacy rate of the district is 82.43%. The official language of the district is Marathi; people also speak Urdu and Hindi. There are 9 Talukas, 16 towns and 1.537 villages. The 9 talukas are Mandangad, Dapoli, Khed, Chiplun, Guhagar, Ratnagiri, Sangameshwar, Lanja and Rajapur. 80% of the district population are Hindus. The six assembly constituencies in the district are Chiplun, Ratnagiri, Rajapur, Kankavli, Kudal and Sawantwadi.

History of Ratnagiri District

Ratnagiri district region was ruled by Buddhist and Hindu rulers. Mauryans and Yadavas also ruled the country. After 1312, the area was under Muslim rule; Delhi sultans, Bahmani sultans, Deccan Sultanates and Mughals ruled the region until 1658. After that, it came under the control of the Maratha Empire. British occupied the area in 1818. Then it came under Bombay's presidency. After India got independence in 1947, the region was included in the Bombay State after the country's reorganisation. This happened in 1950. In 1960, Bombay state was divided, and a new state, Maharashtra, was formed, and the Ratnagiri region became a part of it. Later in 1981, the district was split into Ratnagiri and Sindhudurg districts.

Tourist Places in Ratnagiri District

Tourist Places in the Ratnagiri district include beaches, forts, hills, wildlife sanctuaries, waterfalls and religious places. Jaigad fort, Swayambhu Ganapati temple, Jaigad lighthouse, Thibaw point, Pandre Samudra, Ratnadurga fort, Malgund, Ganapatipule beach, Bhatyi beach, Velneshwar Shiva temple are some of the must visit place in the district.

Ratnagiri district is connected well by road, railway and airways. The district is connected by buses and trains with major cities and towns in the district. The nearest airport is the Chhatrapati Shivaji international airport, Mumbai. Thus, it is okay to reach the district. October to March is the best time to visit the district.

List of Talukas in Ratnagiri District

We have listed below 9 Talukas in Ratnagiri District:

Dapoli Mandangad Khed
Chiplun Guhagar Ratnagiri
Sangameshwar Lanja Rajapur

Ratnagiri District With Talukas & Tourist Places

0/Post a Comment/Comments

Previous Post Next Post