Pune District With Talukas & Tourist Places in Maharashtra State

Pune District With Talukas & Tourist Places in Maharashtra State: Pune is one of the 36 districts in Maharashtra state. Among all the districts in India, Pune is the fourth most populous district. The Pune district area is 15,642 square kilometres. Borders of the state are Ahmadnagar in the northeast, Solapur in the southeast, Satara district in the south, Thane district in the northwest and Raigad district in the west. There are 14 talukas in the Pune district – Junnar, Ambegaon, Khed, Maval, Mulshi, Velhe, Bhor, Haveli, Purandar, Pune city, Indapur, Daund, Baramati and shirur. There are 13 panchayat samitis, 2 municipal corporations, 11 municipal councils, 3 cantonment boards and 1,844 villages. It has 22 assembly constituencies four Lok Sabha constituencies namely Pune, Baramati, Shirur and Maval.

Pune District


Overview of Pune District

Pune district population as per the 2011 census is 9,429,408. Males are 49,36,363 and female population is 44,90,597. 58 per cent of the population lives in urban regions. Population density is 603 per square kilometre. There are 910 females for every 1,000 males. The literacy rate of the district is 87.19%. Hindus form the largest group, there are Muslims, Buddhists, Christians and Jains also. The official language of the district is Marathi. Hindi and Urdu are other languages spoken. Pune district is one of the most developed industrial areas in Maharashtra. Rice, Jwari, Bajri, Wheat, Pulses and onions are the important crops grown here.

History of Pune District

Pune district was under Islamic rule until the 17th century. In the 17th century, Shivaji ruled the region. And then Peshwas made Pune their capital and developed the city. In the 19th century, the region became a part of the British kingdom. In ancient times, the region is also ruled by Rashtrakutas, Yadava kings, Khaljis, Tuglaqs, Bahamani sultanate, Bahamanis etc.

Tourist Places in Pune District

Pune district is very popular for historical places, mountains, temples and many others. Important forts in the district include the Anaghaai, Bhongiri, Chakan fort, Kenjalgad, Korigad, Morgiri, Narayangad, Purandar, Rajgad, Vajrangad, Visapur fort and others. Ashtavinayak temple houses “swayambhu” effigies of Lord Ganesh. Six of these eight temples are in Pune districts, these are Morgaon, Theur, Ranjangaon, Ozar, Lenyadri, and Siddhatek. Dehu temple is on the bank of river Indrayani. This is the Saint Tukaram Maharaj. It is situated at a distance of 34 kilometres from Pune city. Other tourist Places visited by people are the Della adventure park, the National defence academy, and the Pune Okayama friendship garden. Pune is well connected by rail, road and airways. Pune can be visited throughout the year.

Talukas of Pune District in Maharashtra State

The district has 14 talukas in the Pune District of Maharashtra State. We have listed all the talukas below:

Haveli Pune city Maval
Mulshi Shirur Baramati
Daund Indapur Bhor
Velha Purandar Khed
Junnar Ambegaon

Pune District With Talukas & Tourist Places in Maharashtra State

0/Post a Comment/Comments

Previous Post Next Post