Nandurbar District With Talukas & Tourist Places in Maharashtra State

Nandurbar District With Talukas & Tourist Places in Maharashtra State: Nandurbar district is one of the northwest districts of Maharashtra. This is in the Khandesh region. District headquarters is Nandurbar city. Nandurbar district area is 5955 square kilometres. Borders of the district are Dhule district in the south and south-east, Gujarat in the west and north, Madhya Pradesh in the north and north-eastern side and Narmada River in the north of the district. The district has 4 municipalities and 1 revenue division. The number of Gram panchayats is 585 and the number of villages is 943.


Overview of Nandurbar District

Nandurbar district is divided into 6 talukas. These include the Akkalkuwa, Akrani Mahat, Taloda, Navapur, Nandurbar and Shahada. It has six assembly constituencies – Akkalkuwa, Shahada, Nandurbar, Nawapur, Sakri and Shirpur. Nandurbar district population is 16,48,295 and the population density is 260 per square kilometre. There are 972 females for every 1000 males. The literacy rate of the district is 64.38%. The climatic condition of the Nandurbar district is mostly dry. Marathi is the most important language spoken. Residents of this district also speak English, Hindi and Urdu. Niti Aayog selected the Nandurbar district as one of the most aspiring districts in the country.


History of Nandurbar District

Rasika is the old name for the region around the Nandurbar district. Yadavas ruled the region and then it was called Seunadesa. When the region was under Muslim rulers, the name was changed to Khandesh. There were two districts in the region namely Dhule and Jalgaon. In 1906, Khandesh was divided into the West and east Khandesh district. In 1956, with the reorganization of states, it became a part of Bombay state and later in 1960, it came under Maharashtra state. Nandurbar district was formed by bifurcating Dhule district on 1 st July,, 1998. Dhule was divided into Dhule and Nandurbar districts.


Tourist Places in Nandurbar District

Tourist Places in the Nandurbar district include famous temples, hill stations, forts and waterfalls. Since the region is well connected by buses and trains, and also airways, getting there is not a big problem. Prakasha or Dakshin Kashi is one of the oldest temples in the Nandurbar district region. Shri Datta temple in Sarangkheda is a place visited by most devotees on Datta Jayanti. Toranmal hill station is also very popular among tourists. There is Yashwant Lake which is formed naturally. Narayanpur houses an ancient Shiva temple. Akka Rani fort and the beautiful Horaphali and Walheri waterfalls are must visit places in the district.


Talukas in Nandurbar District

The district is divided into 06 talukas, which are grouped into three sub-divisions: Below the table, we have listed talukas of the Nandurbar District

Nandurbar Shahada Taloda
Akkalkuwa Akrani Navapur

Nandurbar District With Talukas & Tourist Places

0/Post a Comment/Comments

Previous Post Next Post