Meghalaya State - Overview of State and Districts, Tourist Places

Also Read:

Meghalaya State - Overview of State and Districts, Tourist Places: Meghalaya, one of the most beautiful states in the country, is tucked away in the eastern sub-Himalayan hills. Nature has bestowed upon her an abundance of rainfall, sunshine, pristine forests, high plateaus, cascading waterfalls, crystal-clear rivers, meandering streams, and, most importantly, robust, intellectual, and welcoming people.

Meghalaya State

Meghalaya State

Meghalaya's emergence as an autonomous state on April 2, 1970, and as a full-fledged state on January 21, 1972, marked a new chapter in the geopolitical history of North Eastern India. In addition, it signified the success of peaceful democratic dialogue, mutual understanding, and the defeat of violence and intrigue.
Meghalaya is located in the northeast corner of India. It measures around 300 kilometres in length and 100 kilometres in width. It is surrounded by the districts of Goalpara, Kamrup, and Nowgong to the north, Karbi Anglong and North Cachar Hills to the east, and Bangladesh to the south and west.
Meghalaya's capital, Shillong, is at an elevation of 1,496 metres above sea level. Shillong, which became the capital of Assam in 1874, remained so until January 1972, when Meghalaya was created. The capital city's name is derived from the Shillong manifestation of the creator.
Meghalaya is susceptible to monsoon fluctuations. Climate changes according to height. Khasi and Jaintia Hills have an environment that is unusually refreshing and delightful. It is neither excessively warm in the summer nor too cold in winter, but the climate across the plains of the Garo Hills is pleasant and humid, except for winter. The Meghalayan sky is rarely clear of clouds.

Area 22,429 Sq. Km
Population29,66,889 (As Per the 2011 Census)
LanguagesKhasi, Pnar, Garo & English
Density132 Per Sqr. Km
Literacy Rate74.43 %

Tourism in Meghalaya State

Meghalaya, known as the "land below the sky," is a beautiful travel destination because of its abundance of unique experiences. In addition, visitors flock to the region to check out some of Meghalaya's most famous sights. The state is a wonderland thanks mainly to its crown jewels, Cherrapunji and Shillong. Meghalaya, the crown jewel of Northeast India, is home to unpretentious people but full of life and humour. Here are some places in Meghalaya that you should visit. 

  • Cherrapunji
  • Balpakram National Park
  • Shillong
  • Elephant Falls
  • Double-decker Living Root Bridge
  • Don Bosco Museum
  • Kyllang Rock
  • Mawlynnong Village
  • Baghmara
  • Nohkalikai Falls
  • Mawsmai Cave
  • Umiam Lake
  • Tura
  • Jowai
  • Nongpoh
  • Dawki
  • Williamnagar
  • Laitlum Canyon
  • Mawsynram
  • Mawphlang Sacred Forest

Districts in Meghalaya State

Meghalaya State has 11 Districts. Below is the table we have listed:

East Garo Hills East Jaintia Hills East Khasi Hills
North Garo Hills Ri Bhoi South Garo Hills
South West Garo Hills South West Khasi Hills West Garo Hills
West Jaintia Hills West Khasi Hills

Meghalaya State - Overview of State and Districts, Tourist Places

0/Post a Comment/Comments

Previous PostNext Post