Gadchiroli District With Talukas & Tourist Places in Maharashtra State

Gadchiroli District With Talukas & Tourist Places in Maharashtra State: Gadchiroli is one of the districts of Maharashtra state and the headquarters of the district is Gadchiroli. It is divided into six sub-divisions namely Gadchiroli, Charmorshi, Wadsa, Aheri, Etapalli and Kurkheda. Each of these divisions is divided into two talukas. The twelve talukas are Aheri, Armori, Bhamragad, Chamorshi, Desaiganj, Dhanora, Etapalli, Gadchiroli, Korchi, Kurkheda, Mulchera and Sironcha. There are 457 gran panchayats and 688 revenue villages. Assembly constituencies in the district are Gadchiroli, Armori and Aheri. Gadchiroli is the only parliament constituency in the district. The district shares borders with Karimnagar district in the south, Chandrapur district in the west, Rajnandgaon district in the East and Adilabad district in the west. Gondi, Madiya, Marathi, Hindi, Telugu, Bengali, and Chattisgadi are the seven languages spoken in the district.

Gadchiroli District


Overview of Gadchiroli District

As per the 2011 census, the Gadchiroli district population is 1,072,942. This is 0.95 per cent of the total population of Maharashtra state. Of the total population, 11% of people live in urban regions and 89% of the population lives in rural areas. Gadchiroli district area is 14,412 square kilometres and its density is 74. The sex ratio is 982 females for every 1000 males. The average literacy rate of the district is 74.36.


History of Gadchiroli District

Gadchiroli district was created by dividing Chandrapur district in 1982. Earlier the region was ruled by Rashtrakutas, Chalukyas, Yadavas and then by Gonds. Chandrapur region was part of Berar till 1853. It was ceded to the British East India Company in the same year. Chandrapur became a district in 1854 in Berar. Gadchiroli tehsil was created in 1905 by the British government. Till 1956, it was part of Central province. Chandrapur became a part of Bombay state in 1956 and then in 1960, Maharashtra was formed and Chandrapur became a district of Maharashtra. In 1982, Gadchiroli became an independent district.


Tourist Places in Gadchiroli District

Gadchiroli is one of the most popular tourist destinations for its beautiful climate, nature and landscapes and Tourist Places. The district is categorized as a tribal district and it has large numbers of hills and forests. Wadadham Fossil Park, Chaparla wildlife Sanctuary, Bhamragarh Wildlife Sanctuary, Lok Biradari Prakalp, Binagunda waterfall, Tipagad, Khobramendha, Bhandareshwar temple and others are important tourist places in the district.  The fossils found in the Wadadham fossil park are believed to be dinosaurs. This is located 19 kilometres from Sironcha and is a must visit place. Tigers, leopards, deer, sambar and many other animals can be seen in Chaparla wildlife sanctuary.


Talukas in Gadchiroli District

Gadchiroli district has 12 Talukas and 6 revenue sub divisions. We have listed all the talukas of the Gadchiroli district below the table:

Gadchiroli Dhanora Chamorshi
Mulchera Desaiganj Armori
Kurkheda Korchi Aheri
Sironcha Etapalli Bhamragad

The district has a total of 1688 revenue villages and 457 Gram Panchayats. The district has three municipalities located in Gadchiroli, Desaiganj (Wadsa), and Armori, as well as 9 Nagar Panchayats (Kurkheda, Korchi, Dhanora, Chamorshi, Mulchera, Aheri, Etapalli, Sironcha, and Bhamragad).


Gadchiroli District and talukas in Maharashtra State

Previous Post Next Post