Aurangabad District With Talukas & Tourist Places in Maharashtra State

Also Read:

Aurangabad District With Talukas & Tourist Places in Maharashtra State: Aurangabad district in the Marathwada region in Maharashtra State. This district is called the gateway of Marathwada and is situated in the middle of Maharashtra. The district is divided into 9 talukas. There are 1362 villages. Aurangabad city is the headquarter of Aurangabad district. Aurangabad district population, as per the 2011 census, is 3,701,282. Population density is 365 per square kilometre.

Aurangabad District


Overview of Aurangabad District

Aurangabad is located in the Godavari basin, and the Aurangabad district area is 10,100 square kilometres. Aurangabad has 9 talukas. These are Aurangabad, Sillod, Soegaon, Vaijapur, Gangapur, Paithan, Phulambri, Khultabad and Kannad. Major rivers pass through the district are the Godavari, Purna, Kham and Shivana. Major crops of Aurangabad are cotton, bajra, maize, toor, sorghum and wheat.
Aurangabad district shares its borders with Jalna district in the east, Nashik district in the West, Beed and Ahmadnagar districts in the South and Jalgaon district in the North.

History of Aurangabad District

The name Aurangabad is derived from the name of Aurangazeb, the Mughal Emperor. Aurangazeb gave the name to this place in 1653. Aurangabad was captured by Hyderabad Nizam in the year 1707, and it was merged into Maharashtra in 1956.


Tourist Places in Aurangabad District

There are many numbers of Tourist Places in Aurangabad district, especially Aurangabad city is the hub of tourism. There are historical monuments, UNESCO world heritage sites, temples, forts etc. Ajanta-Ellora caves are the most popular tourist destination. These are situated in the Aurangabad district and are at a distance of 107 km from Aurangabad city. Ellora caves were built by the Rashtrakuta dynasty in the 5th and 10th centuries, and there are 34 caves in them. There are 30 rock cut caves in Ajanta caves. These were built by Satavahanas, Vakataka and Chalukya dynasties. Ellora and Ajanta caves are UNESCO world heritage sites. Grishneshwar temple is one of the 12 Jyotirlinga shrines. The temple is within the Ellora caves.

Other places of interest include the Daulatabad fort, Tomb of Aurangazeb, Bibi ka Maqbara, Panchakki, Aurangabad caves, Salim Ali Lade & Bird Sanctuary and others. Aurangabad city is known as the city of gates. Gates are built at every entrance of the city. The oldest among the 52 gates is the Badkal gate, built by Malik Ambar. Another popular place in Aurangabad is the replica of Tajmahal, built by Aurangzeb’s son Prince Azam khan, in memory of his mother, Dilras Banu Begum. Aurangabad is well connected by railways, roads and airways.


Talukas in Aurangabad District

The district has 9 Talukas. They are :

Aurangabad Sillod Soegaon
Vaijapur Gangapur Paithan
Phulambri Kannad Khultabad

Aurangabad District

Telegram GroupJoin Now
WhatsApp GroupJoin Now

0/Post a Comment/Comments

Previous PostNext Post
Youtube Channel Subscribe Our Channel