Ahmednagar District - Overview of District and talukas in Maharashtra State

Ahmednagar District - Overview of District and talukas in Maharashtra State: Ahmednagar is the biggest district in Maharashtra. This lies in central part of the state. Area of the district is 17048 sq.km and this is 5.6 percent of the total area of Maharashtra state. Ahmednagar district population also makes the district one of the largest in the state and the population as per 2011 census is 4,543,159. Boundaries of the district are Nashik on north, beed and Osmanabad districts are on the east, Solapur is in south and Aurangabad is in the northeast. The west boundaries are Thane and Pune district. The district has 7 revenue divisions and 14 talukas

Ahmednagar District

Overview of Ahmednagar District

District headquarters of Ahmednagar district is Ahmednagar which is well connected by rail and road services. Ahmednagar district area as mentioned above is 17048 sq.km. population density is 266. There are 14 talukas – Nagar, Sangamner, Nevasa, Rahuri, Rahta, Shrigonda, Kopargaon, Akola, Shrirampur, Parer, Pathardi, Shevgaon, Karjat and Jamkhed. Number of villages is 1584, 14 panchayat samitis, 1311 gram panchayats and 1 municipal corporation. Two parliamentary constituencies of the district are Akole and Major rivers of the district are Godavari and Bhima.
Ahmednagar district has many specialities. It is the leader in cooperative sector, country’s first co- operative sugar factory was set up in the year 1959. There are 19 sugar factories. There are also around 5295 co-operative societies of different types in the district. Ahmadnagar, the headquarter of the district has many industries including the cotton and leather processing. Agriculture is the main occupation in the district but the rainfall is unreliable. Most irrigated crop is sugarcane.

History of Ahmednagar District

Ahmednagar district was formed in the year 1818 after the Marathi army was defeated in the third Anglo-Marathi war in 1818. After that it was part of Bombay presidency in the British era. Present district is formed in the year 1960. Name of the district is taken after the Ahmednagar town. Earlier, the vicinity was ruled by Andhrabrityas, Rashtrakutas, Western Chalukyas, Deogiri yadavs, Bahmanis and Marathas.

Tourist Places in Ahmednagar District Include

Ahmednagar district has many historical and natural tourist places. It is full of forts, temples, parks and unique and special viewpoints. Temple of Saibaba in Shirdi is one of the most popular pilgrim centre. Lakhs of devotees visit the temple throughout the year from all nooks and corners of India. Other tourist attractions include Ahmednagar fort, Cavalry tank museum, Meherabad, Rehekuri blackbuck Sanctuary, Siddheshwar temple, Kapurbawdi lake etc.

Talukas in Ahmednagar District

Nagar Newasa Karjat
Jamkhed Pathardi Shevgaon
Shrigonda Parner Sangamner
Akole Rahata Kopargaon
Shrirampur Rahuri

0/Post a Comment/Comments

Previous Post Next Post